ICC Announced T20 World Cup Schedule 2024

ICC Announced T20 World Cup Schedule 2024
ICC Announced T20 World Cup Schedule 2024

The much-awaited ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is all set to roll out next year, from June 4 to June 30, as revealed by ESPNcricinfo. This will be the ninth time this tournament is taking place, and it will be spread across different venues in the Caribbean and the United States.

This will be a first for the USA, as this is their first time hosting a global cricket tournament. There were some uncertainties initially about holding the event in the USA, but all those issues have been sorted out now.

Recently, a team from ICC visited a few potential venues in the USA. These included locations like Lauderhill in Florida, Morrisville, Dallas, and New York. Lauderhill is no stranger to international T20 matches, and the USA is currently hosting the first-ever Major League Cricket (MLC) competition. However, the Dallas, Morrisville, and New York venues have yet to host international matches.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will witness a record number of teams, with a whopping total of 20. Ireland, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea have recently joined the roster through regional qualifiers, teaming up with the twelve that had already secured their spots – West Indies, USA, Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

The format for this edition will be different from the past. The 20 teams will be divided into four groups of five each. The best two teams from each group will make it to the Super 8 round. Here, they will be split into two groups of four. The top two teams from these Super 8 groups will then go ahead to the semifinals.

Share This Article
1 Comment